The building was erected in 1789, the same year George Washington was inaugurated as president. Originally it contained 3 rooms; a bedchamber, winter kitchen, and dining room. A ballroom was later added.
The tavern was well equipped; it had a loom-room, cobbler's bench, carpenter's shop, corn-shelling machine and full kitchen (all cooking was done in the fireplace and stone oven). Years later a descendant turned the downstairs kitchen into a complete blacksmith shop, which is still intact and is known as The Forge Dining room. This picturesque room is a favorite for our guests. The original bellows and anvil are still in place.
Today the building has 6 public dining areas including a pub/bar and the pub loft (upstairs) and can seat about 380 people. There are 4 private rooms - one has a private bar - for special events, with seating ranging from 12-80 guests. Information about the private rooms is here. The building has 6 fireplaces that provide a warm glow during fall and winter (5 of them original to the building, all gas operated now).
Images courtesy of the Plainville Historical Society.